No Account yet?

Already Adopted

Okra (Okie)

Male Adult Jack Russell Terrier 31 Flavors Mixes (mixed)

If you have any questions about Okra (Okie), please contact A Paw and A Prayer Dog Rescue at

A Paw and A Prayer Dog Rescue

About Okra (Okie)

Okie’s info:

Name: Okra (Okie)
Jack Russell terrier
age: approx. 2 years 
good with kids
great with other dogs
not sure about cats 

Bio: My name is Okie and I’ve been living with my foster mom for the past couple of months while she helps me find a perfect home. She doesn’t really know what the first couple years of my life were like— we didn’t meet until she picked me up of the street when I was wandering confused one evening. I had fleas and needed a good bath and ear cleaning, but otherwise I was healthy and ready to meet my new foster family!

As you can see, I am cute as a button, and I’m just as cute in my personality as in my looks (no need for me to be humble about it)! Like any terrier, I am smart, playful, and curious, and also a bit stubborn. For example, it took my foster mom about 3 weeks to teach me how to sit, which is the longest she’s ever had to spend! Now that I know it, though, I will do it whenever I hear the treat bag rustling. My ideal family would include a person or people who are willing and able to invest time and energy in my training, because I do love to learn, and I have a lot of talents! I would be great at canine sports like agility training, if I do say so myself. 

One thing I love is my friends. I have many of them: my two foster siblings, my foster-foster sibling (that is, the other foster in the house), and all my neighbors, from a 5lb chihuahua and a 75lb shepherd. I love to play and although toys are great, nothing beats a good wrestling match with one of my besties. I would be happiest if I can live with another dog, or several other dogs! I also love kids, especially toddlers and young kids who can match my energy level. Cats? Not sure, but I’m willing to try! If they’re like everyone else, they’ll like me. :) 

I need exercise and training, but most of all I need a loving, fun, patient home where I can be my goofy self and be the best friend you could ever ask for! 



Okra (Okie)
2 years, 5 months
Primary Color
Secondary Color
Pet Has Special Needs
Not Sure
Shots up to date
Not Sure
Ok with kids
Not Sure
Not Sure
Not Sure
Ok with dogs
Ok with cats
Not Sure

A Paw and A Prayer Dog Rescue

TN 37421